South Carolina has strict laws regarding driving under the influence (DUI) to ensure public safety and discourage drunk driving. Adults drank too much and drove about 121 million times per year – over 300,000 incidents of drinking and driving a day. If you or a loved one are a victim of a drunk driving accident, there are some key points about DUI laws in South Carolina that may help you navigate your case.
In South Carolina, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of 0.08% or higher for drivers aged 21 and above. For commercial drivers, the limit is 0.04%. For drivers under 21 years old, a BAC of 0.02% or higher can result in DUI charges. South Carolina has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21. Any detectable amount of alcohol in their system can result in DUI charges.
South Carolina has an implied consent law, which means that by operating a motor vehicle, drivers are deemed to have given consent to a chemical test to determine their BAC if arrested for DUI. Refusing to take a breathalyzer or blood test can result in an immediate license suspension.
The penalties for a DUI conviction in South Carolina depend on factors such as prior offenses and BAC levels. They can include fines, license suspension, mandatory alcohol education programs, community service, and even imprisonment. Subsequent DUI offenses within a certain time frame carry more severe penalties.
In some cases, individuals convicted of DUI may be required to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle. This device measures BAC and prevents the vehicle from starting if alcohol is detected. DUI offenses that involve certain aggravating factors such as excessive BAC levels, causing injury or death, or driving with a suspended license can result in enhanced penalties.
At White Davis & White Law Firm we are here to do everything in our power to help you if you or a loved one are the victims of a drunk driving accident.
Our team of dedicated trial lawyers is located in Anderson, South Carolina, just 30 miles southwest of Greenville. We serve clients across the state, including the cities of Columbia and Rock Hill. In addition to drunk driving accidents and injury cases, we support a wide range of personal injury and civil litigation cases from foster child abuse to wrongful death accounts.
Please do not hesitate to contact us today via phone or by completing our online form to schedule your personal consultation at WDWlawfirm.com or give us a call at 864.231.8090.