Domestic Violence Attorneys
Greenville, Anderson, and Spartanburg, South Carolina, and Surrounding Counties
In South Carolina, criminal domestic violence is defined as physically harming or threatening to harm another household member. If you or a loved one has been charged with criminal domestic violence, please contact the domestic violence defense attorneys at the White, Davis and White Law Firm for a free initial consultation.
Punishment for Criminal Domestic Violence
The maximum punishment for a domestic violence conviction in South Carolina is:
- First Offense - up to 30 days in jail or a fine
- Second Offense - mandatory minimum of 30 days and up to one year in prison and a fine
- Third Offense - mandatory minimum of one year and up to five years in prison
If the offender inflicted serious bodily injury or used a deadly weapon during commission of the act, then he will likely be charged with criminal domestic violence of a high and aggravated nature. This is a crime punishable by mandatory imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than ten years.
A violation of a valid order of protection related to domestic or family violence is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 and up to 30 days in jail.
False Charges and Misunderstandings
It is extremely important to retain an experienced domestic violence defense attorney if you have been charged with a crime. False accusations are not uncommon and misunderstandings may arise that get you sent to jail. Besides fines, fees, and other damages you may have to pay, you may also lose custody of your children, be evicted from your home, and lose your job.
The White Davis & White Law Firm knows these situations occur and believe that you deserve to have your day in court to defend yourself against domestic violence charges.
If you have been charged with domestic violence in Greenville, Anderson, Spartanburg or a surrounding county in South Carolina, please contact the criminal defense attorneys at The White Davis & White Law Firm.